Re-Elect Sheriff Joe Arpaio

Dear Friends:

You have heard by now that the U.S. Supreme Court upheld the most crucial aspect of Arizona’s tough illegal immigration law, better known as SB1070. The part of the law that they found constitutional was the requirement that law enforcement officials determine the immigration status of suspected lawbreakers.

This was an incredible victory for those of us that believe in the Rule of Law – something that this Administration apparently does not. For even before the ink had dried on the Court’s decision, the Obama Administration issued – by fiat – an order that the existing agreement between federal and local law enforcement agencies regarding the detainment of illegal immigrants would be immediately suspended.

Here’s what this means. For years, my department has worked side-by-side with the Immigration and Customs Enforcement agency to detain and deport illegal immigrants. Now, in the wake of the Court’s ruling, that will no longer be the case for most instances.

What the Obama Administration has done here is to further handcuff local law enforcement agencies from doing their job. Even though the Supreme Court has determined this will be the law of the land, this President and this Administration has simply chosen not to participate.

Their hope – and their motive – is that I will no longer arrest and detain those people that are in this country illegally. As I said on that historic day:

“I’m not stopping anything. I’m going to continue to enforce those state laws regardless of what the federal government is trying to put pressure on me to satisfy all these activists…”

And I stand by those words. This federal government, under Obama and Attorney General Eric Holder, has made it crystal clear with this latest action that they have absolutely no intention of securing our border or removing illegal immigrants from this country.

Why? This is a pure politically-calculated maneuver on their part in an effort to garner support from the Hispanic community. No longer do we live under the promise of the Rule of Law. Now our government and elected officials will pick and choose which laws to enforce so they can cater to this group or that group. This is a violation of our principles in a democratic republic and I will not stand for it.

This Administration has already singled me out and filed a lawsuit against me in an attempt to keep me from doing my job. Their lawsuit has no merit, and to date they have not shown any evidence that what I’m doing is wrong.

In fact, just last week Attorney General Eric Holder, in a speech to the National Council of La Raza (which means “THE race”), openly warned me that my policies of enforcing the law would be met with consequences.

Well I don’t work for Eric Holder. I work for the people and I took an oath to protect and defend the Constitutions of both the United States and Arizona. And I will continue to do the job I was elected to do and enforce the law.

I worked as a federal law enforcement official for nearly 50 years and I have never, ever seen a Justice Department as political as this one. This is scary and it must stop.

So now I face the toughest re-election campaign of my career as Sheriff of Maricopa County, Arizona. Not only do I face two opponents on this year’s ballot and left-wing special interest groups that want to defeat me, but now I have the weight of the world’s most powerful government on my shoulders threatening me to keep me from doing my job.

But I pledge this to you: I will not stop. I will not back down one inch when it comes to doing my job. I will not surrender.

But I cannot do this alone. I hate asking for campaign contributions, but I know that if I don’t my political opponents will only be further emboldened in their efforts to defeat me. It is estimated that independent groups will spend upwards of $1 million this year to defeat me – for a county sheriff race!

I must rely on the good people of this country to support my campaign. Can I count on you for your support today?

We must have the necessary resources to run a successful campaign if we are going to send a message to Washington that the Rule of Law still stands. Will you please join me today?

Sincerely,

Sheriff Joe Arpaio
Maricopa County

P.S. After you contribute, please do me one more favor. Send this to at least five of your friends or family members and ask them to join our cause. Together we can get this country back on track!

About SS-28

Appreciator of everything captured through a lens
This entry was posted in Elections 2012, Government, Immigration, News, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

